Buying snowboarding gear cheaply from the US of A.

Thursday 22 February, 2007

I like snowboarding but it’s kinda an expensive sport to be into. I needed some new boots and snowboard bindings (and a board, but can’t afford it right now) but if I bought them in England they would cost over £220 for the ones that I wanted. I had a look at a few of the US snowboard websites and the prices look so much cheaper over there. It worked out much cheaper at only £160 for the same boots and bindings! 🙂

Here are the boots…

My boots

…and the bindings.


Even if I had to pay the tax if customs decided to have a look at them it’d still be cheaper. That’s the great thing about the pound against the dollar at the moment, you pretty much get double for your money! I thought “Excellent!!” and planned to order the boots and bindings.

I booked and paid for my snowboarding trip to Bad Kleinkirchheim in Austria back in December but really needed some new snowboarding gear… The last boarding gear I bought was from abroad and it worked out cheap so I just had to do the same again.

After doing lots of browsing around the US snowboard sites and forums I finally chose to ordered my boots and binding from Tightboards.com. They have a huge selection of snowboarding gear from all the major brands and more! They also do some cool skateboarding and wakeboarding gear too. 🙂

I placed the order for the boots and bindings on the 10th January so this gave the order plenty of time to arrive as I wasn’t going boarding till 7th February.

One thing I was warned about when ordering goods from the US is that their postal service can be a little sporadic at best. With this in mind I was kind expecting the boots and binding to arrive a couple of weeks after I ordered them which would still be ok as I placed the order about a month before I was going on holiday. Anyway, I needed have worried as I received a nice big package at work on 17th January, that’s right both the boots and binding had arrived!

It was like Christmas part 2! I love getting deliveries especially when I’m not expecting them. They came in a large well wrapped package with all the usual bits and bobs.

I had to wait till I got home to open the package and try the boots on.. The boots amazing and bindings are kick ass too. I’ve wanted some Flow bindings for ages now, they’re the ones where the back of the binding opens up and you just slip you foot in.. Saves you from sitting down to put your binding on.. 🙂

Next on my list of things to get are a pair of these kick ass grenade gloves!

So what’s the moral of this story I hear you say.. Well I think it’s pretty clear. Take advantage of the strong pound and go get yourselves some deals from the US of A!

Over and out for now.

2 Responses to “Buying snowboarding gear cheaply from the US of A.”

  1. mark Says:

    I am jealous!
    These look like there up for the job,not like those K2 bindings,eh?
    Didn’t you hear about the global warming your gonna need a boat not boots and bindings!
    Good luck


  2. Yeah, the flow bindings will defo be better than the K2 ones!!! Some people don’t like them though but I think one of the best boarders is sponsered by them so they can’t be too bad…

    Here are the current conditions for the resort that I’m going to on the 9th March..

    Saint-Sorlin d’Arves, France – Data
    Saint-Sorlin d’Arves Snow Reports
    Upper : Snow Depth 120cm
    Lower : Snow Depth 55cm
    Saint-Sorlin d’Arves on the piste
    Resort Altitude 1600m
    Highest Lift 2620m
    Longest Run 7km
    Kms of piste 300km
    Snowboard Parks 2
    Total Runs 93
    Advanced Runs 7
    Intermediate Runs 35
    Beginner Runs 51
    Total Lifts 69
    Chairlifts 26
    Direction of slopes N, N/W
    Snow Cannons 258

    James


Leave a Reply

